Recipe for Romance: Getting out and away, and away we go.

Recipe For RomanceGood morning! I wanted to let you all know I’ve had a marvelous time sharing my romantic recipes with you all, but this is the last week of this blog and it’s time to say farewell. But don’t worry, I’ll continue my recipes for romance on my home blog, to which you’re all welcome to visit. Click HERE for the link.

The start of summer has arrived as evidenced by blockbuster movies and warm(er) weather. The trees are starting to leaf out my neck of the woods and coats are no longer needed for the morning walk to school. This time of year has me thinking of spending more time outside, enjoying the sunshine, and hiking around in the woods. Wyoming is known for some of its spectacular hiking and camping areas, and this is the start of the season to take advantage of them. Camping, whether in a camper (caravan for those outside the US) or in a tent, can be very romantic if you’re outdoorsy (It can also be a disaster and make a funny story later – ask me if you want to know mine).

Tent campingRECIPE FOR ROMANCE
Tent
Sleeping bags and sleeping pads
One (or more) loved-one
Any local campground
Camp stove and cooking gear
Warm clothes for cool nights
Comfort foods for meals (optional)
Firewood (optional)
Wine and chocolate (optional)

Assemble the ingredients, set up your camp, and relax. There’s something therapeutic about cuddling with a lover while the birds call and the deer prowl the edges of your camp. The only sounds are your lover’s breath and the wind in the trees. If you’re lucky enough to camp near a river or creek, you’ll have the water chuckling at you as it chortles along its bed. This is a good time to turn off your phone and reconnect with the one who turns your fire on with hot looks and gentle touches. And building a real fire to sit beside is romantic. Plus everyone knows the relaxation generated by the fire trance while snuggling with a lover. As always, clothing is optional, but be mindful of the outside temperature.

Alterations to Recipe:
For those who don’t easily sleep on the ground, or have a deep aversion to crawly things that live outside, you can substitute with a Bed&Breakfast or rental cottage resort. This will also facilitate bringing the kids who will get the opportunity to be outside and still stay relatively clean and dry (hey, I’m looking out for you parents). You can still have a fire and go for walks in nature, and gaze at the stars when the sun goes down. Take the time to reconnect with your loved ones and find a nexus with some of the cool things you don’t see in town, like coyotes howling at the moon and eagles soaring against the summer skies.

Mix and serve immediately. Feeds the souls of two or more. πŸ™‚

What are your favorite places to camp and your funniest story? Aspiring cooks want to know! πŸ™‚

###########################################
2015 Siobhan

This is my final post for Tea & Strumpets (and the last week for this blog). Don’t worry, though. You can check up on us at our Facebook page. I’m currently at Arizona Dreamin’, hobknobbing with other authors and readers, but I’ll be back online next week.

#RecipeforRomance will continue along with #ThursThreads on the blog on my website. Come find me there. πŸ™‚

All the best,
Siobhan

4 thoughts on “Recipe for Romance: Getting out and away, and away we go.

  1. I’ve really enjoyed your recipes, Siobhan, and will definitely be following your blog. On this one, however, I have to take the alternate approach. I haven’t enjoyed tent camping since my days at Camp NoMoCo with the Girl Scouts in New Jersey. I still have visions of spiders hanging over my head (mostly imagined, but there was this big one….eeeeeeeek!) πŸ™‚ I do like the B&B idea though. πŸ™‚ Happy camping, or whatever. πŸ™‚

    • I haven’t been camping for a while now, too, but now that I live in Wyoming, it’s more part of the culture. We’ll as least put the tent up in the backyard for the kids to enjoy the great outdoors. I miss it and I’m looking forward to doing more of it this summer. Thanks for stopping by, Leah. πŸ™‚

    • Me, too, Elvy. So grateful to have been included for the time I had. Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

