MTV Movie Awards Fashion Wrap-Up!

 

Fictionista

I thought my fashion gazing was over for the season until this little gem popped up on my TiVo guide. As I said last year, I’ve outgrown their categories and I don’t even recognize half the participants, but I could watch the red carpet arrivals and see if anything captures my attention, right?

I needn’t have bothered. It wasn’t very interesting. Most of the men dressed like they just rolled out of bed. The women alternated between looking great, trying to hard, and needing more fabric. I’m not sure I’ll recap this next year, unless the fashions are truly stunning. :-/

BEST DRESSED

Jennifer Lopez via INFphoto.com

Jennifer Lopez via INFphoto.com

Jennifer Lopez in Versace. She’s been on my best dressed list all season. She goes into the summer the reigning fashion queen of the 2015 awards season.

Anna Camp via JustJared

Anna Camp via JustJared

Anna Camp in Peter Pilotto. I just love the bright colors of this little dress. She truly looked like spring personified. And she managed to stay on the right side of the “just sexy enough” line.

 

WORST DRESSED 

Shailene Woodley via Getty Images

Shailene Woodley via Getty Images

Shailene Woodley in Isabel Marant. I applaud the courage to mix prints and when done well, it can be amazing. This didn’t work for me.

Hailee Steinfeld via Getty Images

Hailee Steinfeld via Getty Images

Hailee Steinfeld. I should like this. She’s young enough to try and pull off an edgy look. But, again, another ensemble that didn’t work for me.

Farrah Abraham via Jordan Strauss

Farrah Abraham via Jordan Strauss

Farrah Abraham. I think she tried a little too hard. It’s clear that she feels good and loves her dress, but it’s a little to formal for this event.

 

TOO MUCH?

Bai Ling via Getty Images

Bai Ling via Getty Images

Bai Ling. Umm…

 

TREND? The partial dress

Emily Ratajkowski via Getty Images

Emily Ratajkowski via Getty Images

Emily Ratajkowski in Fausto Puglisi.

Halston Sage via Getty Images

Halston Sage via Getty Images

Halston Sage.

 

And finally, an update about the E! Fashion Police scandal I mentioned last month. After my blog posted, E! made the decision to put Fashion Police on an extended hiatus, after Kelly Osbourne and Kathy Griffin left the show in the wake of the Zendaya/Guiliana Rancic scandal. They plan to return in the fall with a limited number of episodes tied to major events, like the Emmys with Rancic, Brad Goreski and anyone else they attempt to bring in.

There’s a down side to living your life in front of cameras and on social media. You get “comfortable” and feel like you can say anything.

You can’t.

 

PWTP-500pxTracey Livesay’s second novel, Pretending With The Playboy (Book #2 in the In Love With A Tycoon series), is available now from Entangled Publishing. She blogs here on the third Monday of every month. If you like the flavor she’s bringing, you can check out her blog, Mimosas at Midnight or Like her Facebook page.

 

5 thoughts on “MTV Movie Awards Fashion Wrap-Up!

  1. Eye-opening as always, Tracey! I agree Jennifer looked amazing! I just wish Farrah had previewed the events past before choosing her dress. I don’t recognize her name, but perhaps it was her first time there? But MTV would not leap to mind as a venue for haute couture IMHO. Regarding Hailee, do you think that if the shirt had been covered with black mesh it would have worked better? Or a true black sheer shirt instead? I’m definitely not in the ballpark with you, our dear Fictionista, but it crossed my mind. As for the Trend, I hope and pray not!

    • I think it was too many patterns. If the shirt had been all black sheer, or if the skirt had been just black or black with the mesh, it would have worked better for me. But the shirt design, plus the skirt design plus the mesh… it was too much. Although the boots are killer! As for Farrah… *sigh* I didn’t know who she was either so I googled her… she was on their teen mom reality show. *deep sigh*

  2. I must confess that your fashion wrap-ups are my only glimpse into the world of fashion, Tracey, so I’m deeply dependent on you to maintain some level of awareness. 🙂 (As a teen, I subscribed to Glamour magazine. When each issue arrived in the mail, I’d frantically flip to the “Glamour Dont’s” section to see if I’d made its list that month!) The fact that Jennifer Lopez was the only name I recognized is a whole other story. 🙂 Anyway, loved your choices. I kind of like the partial dresses but keep wondering if they’re uncomfortable to wear. I imagine myself trying to pull fabric over the “missing” parts!

Leave a Reply

