Elvy’s Blueberry Pancakes

040

These are for when you want them to take notice – by making something already wonderful even better.

Some of the ingredients may sound odd, but try it and you’ll see.
Ingredients in order of use:
1 6 oz cup (single serving) any flavor Greek yogurt.
2 regular eggs
1 teaspoon ground coriander seed
2 teaspoons vanilla
1/4 teaspoon grated nutmeg
1 teaspoon of salt
2 Tablespoons sugar

1 cup all-purpose flour
Maybe, 1 cup of milk
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 cup fresh, frozen (I use frozen), or canned (and drained) blueberries

Put everything up to (but not including) the flour in a bowl and mix well. It will look like this
035
Put in the flour and add enough milk to make a normal, not too thick, pancake batter.
LET IT SIT WHILE YOU DO OTHER THINGS. This is to let the flour absorb the liquid. Cook bacon, pour juice, give it at least 15 minutes, more wouldn’t hurt.
Heat up your griddle (Note – if using a Teflon coated skillet, put 2 Tablespoons of any kind of vegetable oil in the batter at this point and ignore advice to oil griddle).
Mix in the baking powder, adding enough additional milk to thin batter, blueberries are only barely folded in at the end.
Put enough oil on the griddle to cover bottom (I use coconut oil – it can take the high heat) and when the oil begins smoking, spoon batter onto griddle. Look for bubbles to form in the center, and burst.
036
Then flip. I keep the setting on my large burner at medium-hot. 037

So yummy!
This last photo is of my cherry tree. I planted it years ago, and ain’t it pretty. I’m so happy Spring is here at last.
034

Love on a Half Shell What happens when a thirty-something woman is handed her sister’s messed-up kids, and then finds the love of her life? Meet Rae Green, a woman who could handle anything . . . or so she thought.  Three parts love, two parts grit…the perfect recipe to save a family

Love on a Half Shell
What happens when a thirty-something woman is handed her sister’s messed-up kids, and then finds the love of her life? Meet Rae Green, a woman who could handle anything . . . or so she thought.
Three parts love, two parts grit…the perfect recipe to save a family

6 thoughts on “Elvy’s Blueberry Pancakes

  1. I always learn something from your posts, Elvy. Like not to oil the griddle. I’m going to try that the next time I make pancakes…and maybe I’ll even throw out the box of mix and try them from scratch!

    And what is that round griddle thing you have there? I’ve never seen one like that.

  2. Hey there you – you DO oil a griddle – you DON’T oil a non-stick fry pan if that’s what you used. The thing you see looking like a hubcap, is in fact a stainless steel griddle (very heavy) I found at a yard sale and paid five bucks for. I saw it advertised later on in a chef catalogue for over a hundred. And go ahead and try these pancakes – they are wonderful.

  3. Yard Sale WIN! Wow! I was thinking the same question, guess I’ll have to settle for something a leetle less gourmet. Another great recipe. When we move, I’ll be cooking with gas, in a kitchen I can actually move around in. Can’t wait to try out all your recipes.

    • Thanks Denise. That griddle was a great find, and I didn’t realize what a good deal it was until later on. It’s served me well for over fifteen years, and still going strong. I know it will be good to get your stuff back and be in your own home soon.

  4. Those pancakes sound wonderful. You’re right, some of the ingredients have me concerned, but I will trust you, dear Elvy, and make them as instructed. And I’m so jealous of your yard sale find! 🙂

  5. I know you’ll like them. It turns out yogurt acts on the baking powder to make them rise more, and the ground coriander seed and nutmeg do not actually change the flavor, but boost the blueberry-ness of the pancakes.
    Let me know what you think1

Leave a Reply

