Elvy’s Romantic Dinner for One

Image

Elvy’s Romantic Dinner for One … I know, it’s Valentine season, and how could there be romance with only one person?

Here’s how; I was at home one night, my husband wouldn’t be getting in until late, and I’d fallen into the habit of eating crap when he wasn’t there.

Let me state for the record; it’s been a hell of a winter. My twin grandsons started pre-school two days a week, and I caught every sniffle, cough, virus, cold, and piece of garbage they brought me.

This entire rotten, cold, snowy, horrible winter, I’d babysit for a day, and spend the next two weeks ill, like returning nightmares.

Okay, all that’s behind me now I sincerely hope, so I won’t dwell.  But there I was at home, staring in the refrigerator, looking for crap to eat, and this thought crossed my mind; why not make myself something healthy, and delicious?

What does it feel like to be pampered? To eat food that nurtures instead of only filling you up? When I put that plate in front of me, I felt loved.

This is a meatless, inexpensive, very healthy, easy to make, and quick dinner for one with leftovers.  Feel free to cut the ingredients down for one actual meal, or share!

Ingredients:

  • One-quarter of a box of any kind of spaghetti you like. I used regular sized, whole wheat organic.
  • Fresh garlic. I used three cloves , but I love garlic. So use common sense and put in as much or little as you like. Granulated can be substituted.
  • Frank’s hot sauce. Even if you don’t like heat, try this. I used one teaspoon, and it boosted all the flavors in the dish without making it noticeably hot.
  • ¾ cup Pine nuts or walnuts. Pine nuts are horribly expensive; if you are rich, use pine nuts, if not, try walnut pieces. Not sure about pasta and nuts? Try it, you might be surprised.
  • 2 Tablespoons prepared pesto (usually found in the Italian section-comes in a jar)
  • 2, or more cups fresh spinach
  • 1 cup freshly grated parmisiano- Reggino – yes the real stuff is expensive too, but worth it. You hardly use much for one cup of grated, and the flavor is proof your money was well spent.
  • Optional; Cavender’s Greek Seasoning Salt.

-In a large skillet, put in dry spaghetti. Cover with two inches of water with 1/2 teaspoon of salt added.

-After it has boiled for slightly less than the time called for in package directions, dip out one cup of the pasta water, then drain spaghetti, and put in a bowl.

– In same skillet, heat up four tablespoons of olive oil, and two tablespoons of butter, on medium-low heat, add nuts and lightly brown.

-Add garlic minced, mashed, or any way you want it, and hot sauce, stir fry for thirty seconds, add pasta water, cooked spaghetti, pesto, two cups of spinach, or more, until wilted.

-Turn down heat to low, remove pan and let cool for a moment. Return pan to heat, all of the water should be mostly gone, if not, continue to cook and stir while adding cheese a little at a time. Add more water if it looks dry, and season with salt and pepper, or better yet, Cavenders Seasoned Salt, and plate.

Be loved.

6 thoughts on “Elvy’s Romantic Dinner for One

  1. Uh…what’s in your cupboard and what’s in mine are very different. 🙂 But this does look great! Might be worth a shopping trip to stock that pantry.

    • Yes Tracey, we all need pampering, And taking care of ourselves allows to take better care of others. I’m sorry to hear you’ve been so ill this winter too. So, take care of yourself! Let’s both get real healthy; everybody still needs us.

  2. Applause, Elvy! Another wonderful recipe and a brilliant “clue-by-four” for any of us facing that “what to fix” dilemma. So sorry to hear you’ve been under the weather, but hopefully that’s going to dwindle as you and the twins develop immunities. Take care!

Leave a Reply

